by CU Athletic Communications

The Butkus Foundation announced today that Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons has been named to the watch list for the Butkus Award. The full watch list and additional information from the Butkus Foundation are included below.

CHICAGO – (July 22, 2019) – The Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best linebackers kicked off its 35th annual selection process today by announcing its collegiate and high school preseason watch lists.

Each watch list contains 51 linebackers, mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey associated with the Award’s namesake Dick Butkus, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 39 universities, including returning finalist Dylan Moses of Alabama who won the 2016 high school Butkus Award, and returning semifinalist Markus Bailey of Purdue.

The High School Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 47 secondary schools across 22 states, with Georgia schools fielding the most candidates (6).

Semi-finalists will be named November 4, finalists November 25, and winners on or before December 10. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the award.

The 2018 Butkus Award winners:

Professional: Khalil Mack, Chicago BearsCollegiate: Devin White, LSU (now Tampa Bay Buccaneers)High School: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake, Miss. (now Georgia)

Formed in 1985, the Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. They include the I Play Clean® initiative promoting training and nutrition instead of performance-enhancing drugs, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening among adults.

The Butkus Award, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the nonprofit Butkus Foundation. Selectors and selection criteria are located on the official website. Search social media for #butkusaward2019.

The Butkus Award® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

2019 College Butkus Award Watch List:

Anfernee Jennings, Alabama Terrell Lewis, Alabama Dylan Moses, Alabama Akeem Davis-Gaither, Appalachian State Tony Fields, Arizona Colin Schooler, Arizona De’Jon Harris, Arkansas Clay Johnston, Baylor Evan Weaver, California Isaiah Simmons, Clemson Nate Landman, Colorado Davion Taylor, Colorado Sage Lewis, FIU Dontavious Jackson, Florida State Mykal Walker, Fresno State K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU Michael Divinity, LSU Jacob Phillips, LSU Patrick Queen, LSU Michael Pickney, Miami (Fla.) Shaquille Quarterman, Miami (Fla.) Khaleke Hudson, Michigan Joshua Uche, Michigan Joe Bachie, Michigan State Kamal Martin, Minnesota Mohamed Sanogo, Mississippi Willie Gay, Mississippi State Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State Cale Garrett, Missouri Dante Olson, Montana Mohamed Barry, Nebraska Paddy Fisher, Northwestern Tuf Borland, Ohio State Malik Harrison, Ohio State Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma Calvin Bundage, Oklahoma State Troy Dye, Oregon Cameron Brown, Penn State Micah Parsons, Penn State Markus Bailey, Purdue Kyahva Tezino, San Diego State T.J. Brunson, South Carolina Chapelle Russell, Temple Darrell Taylor, Tennessee Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech Javin White, UNLV David Woodward, Utah State Charles Snowden, Virginia Justin Strnad, Wake Forest Zack Baun, Wisconsin Logan Wilson, Wyoming

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon