by CFB Playoff Communications

LAGUNA NIGUEL, Calif. – The College Football Playoff (CFP) Selection Committee met this week in preparation for the upcoming season. “We’ve enjoyed five years of the College Football Playoff, and the selection committee is looking forward to the start of our sixth season,” said Rob Mullens, Athletics Director at the University of Oregon who will be returning for his second year as committee chair. “It is always good to have the full group together. Our meetings this week were productive and thorough.” The selection committee reviewed the schedule for its weekly ranking announcements, went over its protocol and finalized its list of members who will be recused from voting or discussions regarding selected teams. The selection committee will announce its first of six rankings November 5 following the 10thweek of the season. The committee members will convene in person on Mondays and Tuesdays, revealing its rankings each week on ESPN’s College Football Playoff: Top 25. The final selection committee rankings of the 2019 season will be released on Selection Day, Sunday, December 8. The committee will also announce the matchups for the Playoff Semifinals at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, as well as the New Year’s Six bowl pairings. Below is a complete schedule for the selection committee to announce its rankings on ESPN:

Date / Time

  • Tuesday, November 5 / 9 - 9:30 p.m. ET*

  • Tuesday, November 12 / 7 - 8 p.m. ET

  • Tuesday, November 19 / 7 - 8 p.m. ET

  • Tuesday, November 26 / 7 - 8 p.m. ET

  • Tuesday, December 3 / 7 - 7:30 p.m. ET

  • Sunday, December 8 (Selection Day) / Noon - 4 p.m. ET

*Approximate start time will be 9 p.m. ET from the State Farm Champions Classic doubleheader at Madison Square Garden. The rankings will be revealed live between the Kansas vs. Duke and Michigan State vs. Kentucky basketball games. The selection committee recusal policy remains consistent with the first five years of the College Football Playoff, stating that “a recused member shall not participate in any votes involving the team from which the individual is recused. “A recused member is permitted to answer only factual questions about the institution from which the member is recused but shall not be present during any deliberations regarding that team’s selection or seeding. Recused members shall not participate in discussions regarding the placement of the recused team into a bowl game. “If a committee member or an immediate family member, e.g., spouse, sibling or child, (a) is compensated by a school, (b) provides professional services for a school, or (c) is on the coaching staff or administrative staff at a school or is a football student-athlete at a school, that member will be recused. Such compensation shall include not only direct employment, but also current paid consulting arrangements, deferred compensation (e.g., contract payments continuing after employment has ended, or other benefits. The committee will have the option to add other recusals if special circumstances arise.” Recusals for the 2019-20 football season are as follows:

Team / Selection Committee Member

  • Arizona State / Paola Boivin and R.C. Slocum

  • Arkansas State / Terry Mohajir

  • Florida / Scott Stricklin

  • Georgia Tech / Todd Stansbury

  • Iowa / Gary Barta

  • Mississippi State / Scott Stricklin

  • NC State / Ray Odierno

  • Oklahoma / Frank Beamer and Joe Castiglione

  • Oregon / Rob Mullens

  • Texas A&M / R.C. Slocum

  • Virginia Tech / Frank Beamer

For additional information on the selection committee and its weekly rankings, and to view the selection committee protocol in its entirety, please visit

About the College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff matches the No. 1 ranked team vs. No. 4, and No. 2 vs. No. 3 in semifinal games that rotate annually among six bowl games – the Goodyear Cotton Bowl, PlayStation Fiesta Bowl, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl and Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual. This season’s Playoff Semifinals will take place Saturday, December 28, 2019, at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. The College Football Playoff National Championship will be Monday, January 13, 2020, at Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
© The Evening Sports Page - Since 2018